Malcolm Morse Award

The Malcolm S. Morse Graduate Research Enhancement Award

The Malcolm S. Morse Graduate Research Enhancement Award was established in 2007 by Gertrude G. Morse to honor Dr. Pauline Oliveros, Distinguished Research Professor, visionary composer, and founder of Deep Listening®. The award is given annually to a graduate student of the Arts Department of the School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute who demonstrates sustained engagement with Deep Listening.


2020 Malcolm Morse Awardee – Ezra Jérémie Teboul

Ezra J. Teboul is an artist and researcher documenting the interplay of labor and materials in electronic sound. With a special interest in generative and self-destructive systems, he is currently completing a dissertation at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in Troy, NY which offers a method for the musical study of electronic circuits and code. He’s obtained a BA from Hampshire College, and a MA from Dartmouth College. He’s released two length records under the name Passive Tones with Karl Hohn. He has presented installations at the Zizek Studies Conference (Cincinnati, OH), Acht Bruecken (Cologne, Germany), Silo City (Buffalo, NY), and Moogfest (Asheville, NC) with various collaborators, and had his first solo exhibit for Stepper Choir at Sporobole (Sherbrooke, Quebec) in December 2017. He has published in the International Journal of Zizek Studies (2015), the Guide to Unconventional Computing for Music (Springer, 2017), Making Things and Drawing Boundaries (University of Minnesota Press, 2018), and contributed to the online materials for the third edition of Nicolas Collins’ classic Handmade Electronic Music (Routledge, 2020). He has presented theoretical and practical research combining history of engineering and technology, media archaeology and electronic instrument building in various conferences such as the Alternative Histories of Electronic Music (London, 2016), SIGCIS (Philadelphia, 2017), 4S (Boston, 2017), the Colloque Lutheries Electroniques (Paris, 2018), SHOT (Milan, 2019) and NESTS (Troy, 2020). In 2017, he was researcher in residence at Signal Culture (Owego, NY) and artist in residence at Sporobole. As an event producer, he contributed to the 2013 iteration of John Cage and Lejaren Hiller’s HPSCHD at Eyebeam (NY), and co-curated 2018’s You Do (It) You(rself): Personal and Social Narratives of System Design in Electronic Arts with at the School for Poetic Computation (NY).


Past Awardees

2018 – Senem Pirler and Diana Alvarez 

2017 – Zach Layton

2014 – Helen J. Bullard

2010 – Stephanie Loveless